current entry
older entries
profile
webrings
email me
sign my guestbook
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland

One of my classmates, who I did not know, and another student from a different college were killed earlier this week in Puerto Rico, near Arecibo.

He was an experienced hiker, I can see from his mini-bio, but the rivers up there round Arecibo are deep, and incredibly swift, but placid on the surface. The slope is so constant that the rivers run down quickly but without rapids or surface disturbance. My guess is the two guys got in the water deep enough that they were just swept away.

I'ts sad, really, but they made a judgement call on trying to cross the river, and it was the wrong decision. It happens.

I feel badly for the two students' families and friends. It's sad to say that I know what it means to lose a close friend, especially someone so bright.

~Halcyondream~

last entry next entry

06.25.2003 22:49
a death in the family


last 5
goodbye diaryland - 06.19.2004
p.s.: i really should get a livejournal to keep up with the rest of you - 06.18.2004
another day, another dollar not earned - 06.14.2004
time for an old halcyon standby: diatribe - 06.14.2004
a new era in computing for halcyon - 06.11.2004


BUDDIES
actionhero
ciannait
hoochiepoet
kideternity
magistrate
malraux
nesrop
newcollege
wheeloffish
zim-dib
estrodome