current entry
older entries
profile
webrings
email me
sign my guestbook
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland

ELWOOD, Indiana (AP) -- A man who won $57,000 in an Indiana lottery game taped for television died hours later after being hit by a pickup truck.

The "Hoosier Millionaire" featuring Carl D. Atwood, 73, was broadcast Saturday night after his family said they wanted the show to go on, Hoosier Lottery director Jack Ross said.

The broadcast concluded with a photo of Atwood accompanied by text reading: "In memory of Carl Atwood."

Atwood won the money Thursday during a two-hour taping in Indianapolis.

"I am very thankful," he said on the program. "I must admit that I never expected to be leaving the show with this amount of money. Now I can purchase a very nice car."

Hours later, Atwood was hit by a truck as he walked to the grocery store where he bought the winning ticket near his home in Elwood, about 40 miles northeast of Indianapolis. He died at a hospital.

I needn't point out the irony of Atwood's intention to buy a car with the money he made.

I played my first game of real poker (for money) the other night. It was a $5 buy-in. Seven people. A lot of Texas Holdem, some Draw, and the occasional Stud game. I lost all $5. I bought in again. I ended the night with a $25 gain.

Not bad... actually, I cleaned up. Beginner's luck, you might say.

Earlier today, a down-on-his-luck man approached us in the Publix parking lot. Even if his story was fabricated, he put a lot of effort into it, and he really did appear to be having a hard time. So I gave him some of the money I made on the poker game.

I don't consider it charity. I always try to share when fortune falls into my lap.

~Halcyondream~

last entry next entry


the great chaos


last 5
goodbye diaryland - 06.19.2004
p.s.: i really should get a livejournal to keep up with the rest of you - 06.18.2004
another day, another dollar not earned - 06.14.2004
time for an old halcyon standby: diatribe - 06.14.2004
a new era in computing for halcyon - 06.11.2004


BUDDIES
actionhero
ciannait
hoochiepoet
kideternity
magistrate
malraux
nesrop
newcollege
wheeloffish
zim-dib
estrodome