current entry
older entries
profile
webrings
email me
sign my guestbook
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland

Ketosis hit me like a freight train yesterday afternoon.

I thought I knew what 'manic' was until then. It wasn't bad, necessarily, but I was bouncing all over the place. But hey, in this state I sleep for eight hours and wake up refreshed and alert. More than I can say for my usual sleep patterns, which are either sleeping very little and being tired, or sleeping way too much and being tired.

I was totally manic and bouncy until I made dessert last night, which was ricotta, Splenda, a little almond extract, and slivered almonds, which came out to be basically cannoli filling. The calcium and milk fats slowed me down and made me euphoric... so much so that my mom said, "wow, I've never seen anyone get high on dairy."

So I'm learning precisely what food can do to one's state of mind. For the past few years, my blood sugar levels have been so whacked that I never noticed, or I blamed my highs and lows on other factors without taking food into account.

These two weeks are a purge, to reset my insulin system. What a ride it is.

~Halcyondream~

last entry next entry

12.17.2003 07:32
new drug fad sweeping the nation


last 5
goodbye diaryland - 06.19.2004
p.s.: i really should get a livejournal to keep up with the rest of you - 06.18.2004
another day, another dollar not earned - 06.14.2004
time for an old halcyon standby: diatribe - 06.14.2004
a new era in computing for halcyon - 06.11.2004


BUDDIES
actionhero
ciannait
hoochiepoet
kideternity
magistrate
malraux
nesrop
newcollege
wheeloffish
zim-dib
estrodome