current entry
older entries
profile
webrings
email me
sign my guestbook
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland

I've been in class two days, for fourteen hours total, and now I have been trained in ARC International Services.

I have completed one step in a set of many to get to my eventual goal.

The next year of my life will involve completing at least two more steps, one is to graduate from college, and the second is yet unknown.

I have, as K might tell you, changed much this summer, and perhaps more significantly than I have over the past "changes" that I report to this journal every so often. I have almost totally lost my cynicism, worn it down to a little nub of occasional situational pessimism.

The world is a wonderful place, now that I can look at your average person without that creeping sense of revulsion or disdain.

I have learned immensely about people and how to interact with them. I have learned that many people are essentially good, and no matter their level of intelligence or education they can be good people.

Don't get me wrong, I'm still aware that there are essentially bad people out there, but I don't apply that stigma to everyone anymore. I don't assume that someone is wrong, evil, stupid, or ignorant without having interacted with them in some significant way.

I also have gained hope, optimism, idealism, and a little faith in humanity. I know that bad things will always happen to good people, and that horrors will always exist in the world, but now I have come to the idea that one does not need to accept these bad things. One can attempt to prevent them, or at least mitigate their negative impact, even if to eradicate suffering completely will probably never happen. One can attempt to do some good in the face of all of these bad things, and make the world a better place by doing good even if the bad will always be there.

Working with the Red Cross is activism, in a way, but without the politics.

It's human.

I love it.

~Halcyondream~

last entry next entry

07.26.2003 16:46
a one-eighty has been in the works for quite some time


last 5
goodbye diaryland - 06.19.2004
p.s.: i really should get a livejournal to keep up with the rest of you - 06.18.2004
another day, another dollar not earned - 06.14.2004
time for an old halcyon standby: diatribe - 06.14.2004
a new era in computing for halcyon - 06.11.2004


BUDDIES
actionhero
ciannait
hoochiepoet
kideternity
magistrate
malraux
nesrop
newcollege
wheeloffish
zim-dib
estrodome