current entry
older entries
profile
webrings
email me
sign my guestbook
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland

My brain has been absorbed into the lightspeed freeway junction that is the Internet.

You see, I started playing this game called "Anarchy Online," which is an MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game). It's kind of like a MUD (MultiUser Dimension), only on a truly massive scale, and it uses graphics and sound instead of text. A bit different. Instead of entering 'n' 'n' 'n' 'w' to get where you're going, you walk there. So qualitatively I guess it's quite different.

But anyway, the game combines the best of the sci-fi and fantasy/RPG worlds, little elements from classics (a little Dune here, some Bladerunner there, some Tolkein here, some Gibson there) to create a very interesting place.

And it's very addicting. The only reason I even thought to update my journal is because I crashed out of the game.

So, if you happen to be an AO player (you know who you are), look me up. My character's name is 'Zerithi', a Bureaucrat.

I've made some 'friends' there, had some good times and some good chats.

The chat interface turns the game into basically a huge IRC channel with a game attached to it. So it's like chatting with avatars... vaguely reminiscent of a majorly backward chat interface from Gibson's Idoru.

Anywho. It's really cool. I can't wait to not work on my thesis next year.

I almost entered '/me laughs /n /laugh-b' there (which would produce "Zethiri laughs" in the chat window, along with my character doubling over with laughter).

Whoa. Habits are forming.

~Halcyondream~

last entry next entry

07.21.2003 23:09
it's eating my brain!


last 5
goodbye diaryland - 06.19.2004
p.s.: i really should get a livejournal to keep up with the rest of you - 06.18.2004
another day, another dollar not earned - 06.14.2004
time for an old halcyon standby: diatribe - 06.14.2004
a new era in computing for halcyon - 06.11.2004


BUDDIES
actionhero
ciannait
hoochiepoet
kideternity
magistrate
malraux
nesrop
newcollege
wheeloffish
zim-dib
estrodome