current entry
older entries
profile
webrings
email me
sign my guestbook
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland

I decided not to go in to the office today.

That's the lovely thing about volunteering; you get to decide your own schedule. That doesn't mean that I'm not still running under the 14 July deadline for having compiled my community contacts (car dealers, rental agencies, TX DoT, DHS, Border Patrol, etc.), filtered and formatted all the relevant disaster planning information I get from the EMAs, and having the pamphlet localized and in Quark format for printing, no sir.

Tommorrow and Friday will be long days. I just couldn't do six days this week, it's too much to ask of someone who isn't getting paid. I'm going in all day Saturday for disaster training classes.

I'm gonna continue this gig through next year and after I graduate. I think once I get my IS instructor certification (which involves a several-day workshop in DC), the ARC might offer me a paid job somewhere.

That would be cool.

Even if they don't, I can still volunteer wherever my parents are (which is looking to be either here or DC). Or I could stay in Tampa.

Either way, it's better than overseeing burger-flipping high schoolers, which is what most recent college grads are doing these days.

~Halcyondream~

last entry next entry

07.09.2003 14:00
would you like fries with that?


last 5
goodbye diaryland - 06.19.2004
p.s.: i really should get a livejournal to keep up with the rest of you - 06.18.2004
another day, another dollar not earned - 06.14.2004
time for an old halcyon standby: diatribe - 06.14.2004
a new era in computing for halcyon - 06.11.2004


BUDDIES
actionhero
ciannait
hoochiepoet
kideternity
magistrate
malraux
nesrop
newcollege
wheeloffish
zim-dib
estrodome