current entry
older entries
profile
webrings
email me
sign my guestbook
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland

The anniversary of Jason's death is coming up in less than two weeks.

I still can't listen to Joni Mitchell or hear any of his favorite showtunes or look at a banana cream pie without at least getting a lump in my throat.

Sometimes I force myself to listen to Joni Mitchell's "Both Sides Now" album and I cry through the whole thing.

He and I almost made it to the concert for that tour. There was a show in West Palm Beach, I think in 2000, and the tickets for the lawn seating were at-the-gate only, so we drove all the way up there (it's almost an hour and a half drive) only to find out that the tickets were sold out. We hung around for a bit, and resolved to tell everyone at home that we had in fact seen the show. While we were driving home, we stopped for a bathroom break and Jason bought a 10c condom from a machine and opened it in the car, and his fingers started burning so he threw it on the dash. It stayed there for days because no one wanted to touch the caustic condom until it was dry. By the time I got around to removing it, it had thoroughly fused to the dash. I still find bits of it in my car.

I suppose you had to be there. It was quite funny.

Every once in a while I find myself reminiscing about those times. I didn't think so then, but I'd say now that they were some of the happiest times in my life. It was pretty carefree to be a senior at Western, and I had a group of incredibly close friends that I saw everyday.

No worries and good times.

Anyway, I finally thought of linking Jason's Livejournal on this page, it's all the way at the bottom. I'll have an honest-to-God image for the link eventually. Soon after Jason's death I emailed the folks over there at LJ and made sure they would never delete his journal. They said that it wasn't their policy to delete inactive journals anyway, but they'd make a special note of his.

Sure enough, it's still there. The last entry is still the same one that for the first few days I kept checking over and over again to see if there wasn't just some kind of mixup.

He was one of the few friends that I had every intention of keeping up with for the rest of my life.

Oh, and happy Independence Day.

~Halcyondream~

last entry next entry

07.05.2003 02:24
a digital memorial


last 5
goodbye diaryland - 06.19.2004
p.s.: i really should get a livejournal to keep up with the rest of you - 06.18.2004
another day, another dollar not earned - 06.14.2004
time for an old halcyon standby: diatribe - 06.14.2004
a new era in computing for halcyon - 06.11.2004


BUDDIES
actionhero
ciannait
hoochiepoet
kideternity
magistrate
malraux
nesrop
newcollege
wheeloffish
zim-dib
estrodome