current entry
older entries
profile
webrings
email me
sign my guestbook
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland

Hmm... relaxing too much is not such a good thing, even here in El Paso. I haven't done anything productive since I got here except two loads of laundry and getting a start date for the Red Cross, which is Friday.

I've mostly been playing video games, collecting tv episodes of "Freakazoid!" and "Samurai Jack" (and more "Ren and Stimpy", of course), and reading. I've started William Gibson's latest, Pattern Recognition, which is surprisingly non-sci fi, set in what could be now. It's quite good, though, and eerily... relevant. But then he always is.

I have yet to read Mona Lisa Overdrive.


I revisited an old video game over the last few days, a little game called Half-Life --yes, those of you acquainted with the world of gaming know what I'm talking about. Even though it's five years old, eons in the technological paradigm, it's still incredible. It's a story, a good one at that, and more importantly, it's an atmosphere. Half-Life is almost a mood piece, set to convey a feeling. All the elements are crafted toward that feeling, from the obvious, music, to the subtle little details one would hardly notice the first time around.

Good stuff. A definite classic. Anyway, I saw a preview of Half-Life 2, set for a September release, and it looks incredible. Graphics almost on the level of "Monster's Inc" I shit you not. It made my computer weep in the corner.

Let's hope they keep the mood and well-written story. I've grown weary of mindless action games.

last entry next entry

06.10.2003 10:55
�es un s�bado gigante!


last 5
goodbye diaryland - 06.19.2004
p.s.: i really should get a livejournal to keep up with the rest of you - 06.18.2004
another day, another dollar not earned - 06.14.2004
time for an old halcyon standby: diatribe - 06.14.2004
a new era in computing for halcyon - 06.11.2004


BUDDIES
actionhero
ciannait
hoochiepoet
kideternity
magistrate
malraux
nesrop
newcollege
wheeloffish
zim-dib
estrodome