current entry
older entries
profile
webrings
email me
sign my guestbook
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland

Waa waa waa!

Life isn't fair! I'm unhappy because I'm not happy!

Give me sex! Give me drugs and alcohol! Give me give me give me!

Sometimes I really despise this school. I'm beginning to think that if I stay here much longer I'll turn into an anti-intellectual.

As I talk with people more and more about their political views, their beliefs, and their general outlook I see the same thing recycled over and over and over. We're so self-contained (or self-insulating) here at New College that we all pick up digested ideas and adopt them for ourselves. The more I demand that people explain their beliefs, the less they are able to.

It's as though people are given an issue, and then two or three responses to pick from as their own.

I hear people say the same thing that I heard another person say not but a few hours before. It's as Zim-Dib was explaining, a meme, a word with an attached idea that spreads through a society like a virus.

But people's responses to the memes are far from unique. People absorb bullshit from other people who in turn absorb another person's bullshit, until everyone eventually has one of a few opinions about something. It's an endless cycle of digested horseshit.

Why does this disturb me so much?

~Halcyondream~

last entry next entry

03.14.2003 03:32
maudlin love biscuit


last 5
goodbye diaryland - 06.19.2004
p.s.: i really should get a livejournal to keep up with the rest of you - 06.18.2004
another day, another dollar not earned - 06.14.2004
time for an old halcyon standby: diatribe - 06.14.2004
a new era in computing for halcyon - 06.11.2004


BUDDIES
actionhero
ciannait
hoochiepoet
kideternity
magistrate
malraux
nesrop
newcollege
wheeloffish
zim-dib
estrodome