current entry
older entries
profile
webrings
email me
sign my guestbook
leave me a note
lex designs
hosted by diaryland

I'm starting to get excited about my thesis again. This is a welcome change, I was beginning to fear that I would have to slug through a year of mind-wrenching work without any motivation except the possibility of completion.

I am, however, still waking up every morning and considering breaking a limb in order to get out of my classes. I want this semester to be over, and I haven't even quite made it halfway. These classes suck, though American History (part deux) will get much better once we get into and beyond the 1940s. I've decided that everything before the world wars is entirely unimportant. I'm sure most students of History would burn me at the stake for even thinking such heresies, but in terms of usable history (more burning), the world was set in motion toward the present case when Princep shot the Archduke (yet more burning).

The Middle East crises, the Nazis, the Cold War, US world dominance, ethnonationalistic struggles for political freedom, Vietnam, fuel-efficient Japanese automobiles in the 1970s... all of it, when Ferdinand and his wife died (gasoline comes into play).

So the rest of that fancy-pants 100,000,000,000,000,000,000BC-1914AD crap is moot (thermo-nuclear devices detonated on my charred corpse for good measure).

Heh. Well, it's still neat.

~Halcyondream~

last entry next entry

03.09.2003 02:58
at least i'm not attempting to create macro-history


last 5
goodbye diaryland - 06.19.2004
p.s.: i really should get a livejournal to keep up with the rest of you - 06.18.2004
another day, another dollar not earned - 06.14.2004
time for an old halcyon standby: diatribe - 06.14.2004
a new era in computing for halcyon - 06.11.2004


BUDDIES
actionhero
ciannait
hoochiepoet
kideternity
magistrate
malraux
nesrop
newcollege
wheeloffish
zim-dib
estrodome